News:

9/7/05- 6 months! How the heck did we miss that date?? And you didn't even remember to get me a gift!

Main Menu

is flash hard?

Started by Listener, June 07, 2006, 04:10:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Listener

I have a job interview on Friday and one of the things they want is someone who knows Flash, which I don't, but the guy I talked to today (prelim phone interview) said flash programming would be part of the job, and I've never programmed it before.

So... is it hard?

SockmonkeyHolocaust

Depends. What do you mean by "Flash Programming"?

Are you going to have to make buttons, work with video, make games, or hook it to a database? I could teach you in an afternoon enough to make a website.

Listener

Quote from: Sockmonkeyholocaust on June 07, 2006, 04:11:56 PM

Are you going to have to make buttons, work with video, make games, or hook it to a database? I could teach you in an afternoon enough to make a website.

Probably make buttons, work with video, and possibly hook it to a database.  But if you could teach me in an afternoon how to make a website, I'm pretty sure that means it's not abominably difficult.

SockmonkeyHolocaust

Quote from: Listener on June 07, 2006, 04:13:02 PM

Probably make buttons, work with video, and possibly hook it to a database.  But if you could teach me in an afternoon how to make a website, I'm pretty sure that means it's not abominably difficult.

Just because I can teach you enough in an afternoon doesn't mean you can learn enough.

Funny story.

I was working with a client who had a ton of video editing experience. My job was to make an online commercial using Flash to his direction. He got so frustrated with me that he announced that he would download the program and do it himself.

Three hours later he called me back and gave me clearer directions about what he wanted and we finished the project.

So have fun with that.

Listener

Quote from: Sockmonkeyholocaust on June 07, 2006, 04:16:49 PM